More drawings!

May 2, 2012 § 6 Comments

More experiments today with how I’m placing my figures on the paper. I’ve drawn figures moving in a circle on the page, but I wanted to try out a spiral shape to give it an organic feel. I’d love to draw a huge version on a piece of paper several metre in diameter, with endless figures moving around the paper. I think it could look very powerful.

Meditation, wood-burning pen on paper, 87 x 67 cm

Below is a drawing where I’ve drawn fewer figures, so each is easier to make out. I was aiming for simplicity!

Grace, wood-burning pen on paper, 60 x 67 cm

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to More drawings!

  • iangoldsmith says:

    Can’t see the more drawings in “more drawings”, but it might be my phone 🙂

  • iangoldsmith says:

    Got them now. Brilliant!

  • Kevin says:

    Ever heard of Eadweard Muybridge? He was a famous British photographer from the mid – late 19th century, who studied locomotion, both in animals and in people. Your (beautiful!!!) drawings remind me a lot of his work. If you’re interested, wikipedia has a decent article about him: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eadweard_Muybridge

    Keep up the great work! Best, Kevin.

    • rosiewinnart says:

      I have yes! He was a huge inspiration to me throughout my degree. I adore his work! I’m so glad you picked up on that. His work can be quite mechanical so I like to bring a more feminine quality to my drawings.

      • Kevin says:

        I had a feeling you were familiar with his work :-). You’re right: his images can often seem mechanical, but I suspect that is a result of using a different medium and (probably more importantly) having a different agenda altogether. Love your drawings! So glad I somehow stumbled upon your blog. Beautiful work. Best, Kevin.

      • rosiewinnart says:

        I couldn’t agree more! Really lovely of you to say that though!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading More drawings! at rosiewinnart.

meta

